Crystal Intentions

img_4191

Smoke of Air and Fire of Earth
Cleanse and bless this home and hearth.

Drive away all harm and fear;
Only good may enter here.

One of the few metaphysical things I feel a real draw to or affinity with (I saw few because the whole casting of circles, etc., doesn’t resonate with me and that seems to be the first thing many people thing of), is the use of crystals. I’ve always been drawn to them, even as a child. I remember my grandfather giving me large numbers of tumbled rocks (mostly plain agates, if I remember them correctly) and I would hold them in my hands and move them through and through my fingers, over and over.

Anyway. Over the last few years I’ve purchased or been given several crystals. When we moved here I put them out on a bookshelf in my book/art/sacred space room, and didn’t think much of it. At some point a few months ago, I went several days without going into that room (we keep the door shut most of the time, to conserve energy), and when I did – I was struck by the feeling of restfulness as soon as I entered. Restfulness, relief, ease. It was strong that I was startled, even as I enjoyed it – and I sat down at my desk, pondering. After a few minutes I happened to notice my little display of crystals. Unassuming, almost out of sight. But the only thing different about that room than any other in my house.

That day I moved them to the wooden bowl on top of a low bookshelf (picture in the first post), accompanied by the orchid. That day I also began rethinking my recent lackadaisical approach to spirituality – i.e., my lack of anything spiritual in the last two years.  I am unsure of so many things. Yet the stones – they resonate with me, they pull me, and it’s not a new fancy. So I’ve been studying, and I’m greatly intrigued (if not entirely convinced) by the idea of their power to influence the state of mind, to heal, to protect, or to draw good things/repel bad things. Crystal grids in particular have captured my attention. I’m still trying to decide what exactly I want to do as far as a grid, but I’ve added a few more crystals to my collection. My first concern was how to cleanse them, and after reading until my eyeballs were about to fall out of the sockets…I decided on a plan of action.

  • First, I used sage smoke to clear my entire house. I did this when I first moved in, but it felt rather unsatisfactory, for whatever reason – but I wasn’t sure what to do about it. I used a white sage bundle, started at the front door, opened a window on each side of the house that HAS windows, and softly sang the chant at the top of the post. It felt much better.
  • Second, I decided to use sound to cleanse the crystals. I read about the saltwater method, the rinsing method, the moonlight method, the sunlight method, the rice method, the salt method. None of those seemed right to me, though obviously they work for some people. As soon as I read about using sound though, I remembered the Tibetan singing bowl my Reiki mentor used and I knew. I didn’t have a bowl, but I found a small, inexpensive one on Amazon. Yes, Amazon. Le sigh. I simply can’t afford one of the larger, gorgeous handcrafted ones I found. I made a circle of crystals around my bowl (after some practice to get the tone right), meditated for a few minutes on my intention to “reset” the energies of the crystals, and began. I had a few necklaces and a pendulum that I also passed through the sage smoke.
  • Last, I secured the crystals in cloth bags. Most black, but some burlap. I stored the stones I plan to use together, together, and left out my new citrine sphere next to my orchid.

I’m still learning, but I feel like I’m on the right path. I’m very interested and cautiously excited.

img_4192

Yes, that is a wrapped Christmas present. There’s a bracelet inside that I wanted cleared as well, haha.

 

About Lizzy

Just a girl with a book obsession, a caffeine problem, and an adrenaline addiction. I read mostly fiction of the YA, fantasy, mystery, or historical variety - usually some combination of those. ;) I live in South Korea with my husband, our orange tabby cat, Sir Tristan, and an ever-growing collection of books. I also love to travel, be outdoors whenever possible, write snail-mail letters, and create fiber art. I am an old soul in a 28-year-old body. In my life outside of books, I'm a medic with a B.A. in English. I also have a garden blog. :)
This entry was posted in crystals, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

